Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Initiatives: Gordon & Emma Anderson Collection

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

Anderson collection header image

Gordon and Emma Anderson Collection

The Gordon and Emma Anderson Collection consists of photographs, documents, and objects relating to the Anderson and Landers families from the Kenmare and Crosby areas of North Dakota (Ward County and Divide County), from the late 1800s to the late 1900s.

Access this collection on (click on the logos to be redirected):

                                                Digital Horizons logo                                                DPLA Primary Horizontal Logo

About the Collection

Gordon and Emma Anderson Collection

In additional to the content relating to Anderson and Landers families of North Dakota, the collection also includes many items relating to:

  • Agriculture - harvest scenes, soil conservation, and farms from the 1890s to the 1990s
  • Military - images of family members who served during World War II
  • Vacations - Anderson family vacations to locations across North Dakota and the country, 1940s-1970s
  • North Dakota - images of towns, school events, historic sites, parades, colleges, sports, etc., 1910s-1970s

Gordon Anderson, one of the collection's namesakes, was born on December 6, 1918. He later underwent naval training at Notre Dame and served during World War II. In 1943, Gordon Anderson married Emma Landers, the other namesake of the collection. Emma was born in Kenmare, North Dakota, on August 6, 1919. After the war in 1946, the couple settled in Crosby, N.D. Gordon was a schoolteacher, teaching agriculture, before working for the local Soil Conservation Service (where he worked until retirement). Gordon was an amateur photographer and took many photographs during his life, many of which make up this collection.

Collection Guides

 

Visit the Policies & Procedures page for more information.

 

New Items Added

A monthly report highlighting the new items uploaded to the various digital collections of the ND State Library. Visit the Reports page to access these documents.

A list of the top 10 items in each of the ND State Library's digital collections that received the most views in a given year. Visit the Reports page to access these documents.