Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Initiatives: Services

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

Services

Services

Digital Initiatives offers a variety of services to North Dakota libraries, state government, and residents. Explore the tabs on this page for additional information on:

  • Services for Libraries
  • Services for Government
  • Services for the Public

Services for Libraries


Consultation

Digital Initiatives will offer consultation (in-person or remote) on such issues as:

Have additional questions that are not on this list? Uncertain about scanning or scanner settings? Feeling overwhelmed with your digital project? Digital Initiatives is here to help! Consulting can take place by email, over the phone, in-person (via a site visit), or virtual (via tools like Teams or Zoom). This service is available to all North Dakota libraries. To get started, contact Digital Initiatives.


Digital Collections

The digital collections of the ND State Library are publicly accessible and searchable online in two locations: Digital Horizons and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). The collections contain thousands of items (photographs, documents, objects, etc.) relating to the history and culture of North Dakota and the Great Plains, as well as state government. The ND State Library supports open access to its digital collections and strives to allow users to access and search high-quality representations of the original items.

  • If any libraries are interested in partnering with the ND State Library to have their collections (photographs, letters, etc.) digitized and made available online, contact Digital Initiatives.
  • Digital Initiatives can work with your library directly or point you in the right direction to get your digital collection project up and running.
  • The ND State Library may also be able to provide your library with online hosting at no cost. Your digital content would become incorporated into the digital collections of the ND State Library. Contact Digital Initiatives for more information.

Digital Projects Toolkit

This toolkit covers the basics of cultural heritage digitization projects. Each of the sections includes practical tools, guidelines, examples, and resources for more in-depth learning. The toolkit includes sections on project planning, copyright, digitization, metadata, digital collection management, and storage and digital preservation.


Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a free, national digital library that provides a single point of access to cultural heritage materials (over 40 MILLION images, videos, texts, sounds, etc.) from more than 4,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.

The ND State Library joined DPLA in 2018 via a partnership with the Big Sky Country Digital Network (BSCDN) in Montana. Through the partnership with BSCDN, the ND State Library has paved the way for other North Dakota institutions to also join DPLA, and Digital Initiatives assists those who are interested in joining. In fact, the ND State Library is actively looking for new institutions to join. This is a wonderful opportunity to be a part of a national digital library. It is also an opportunity to bring together all of the separate digital collections in North Dakota into one location.

  • If you have any questions about DPLA and how to use it, or if your library in is interested in joining DPLA, contact Digital Initiatives for more information.

Resources

Digital Initiatives provides resources on topics such as genealogy, hardware & software, oral histories, archiving & preservation, and much more!


ScanDay

ScanDay

  • ScanDay is an event hosted with or in libraries (public, academic, school, special, etc.) across the state, in which Digital Initiatives staff from the ND State Library bring scanning and photography equipment to a community and digitize photographs, documents, objects, etc. from the collections of local institutions and private citizens. After digitization, the items are returned and each participant is given a flash drive containing digital copies of their items.
  • If your library is interested in hosting or participating in a ScanDay, contact Digital Initiatives.

Planning Your Own ScanDay

  • If your library has the space and the necessary equipment, Digital Initiatives can help you successfully plan and implement its very own ScanDay event.
  • The "Planning Your Own ScanDay" page provides information and resources for libraries and institutions that want to host a ScanDay on their own.
  • Digital Initiatives also provides "train the trainer" services and will train your library staff on how to conduct your own ScanDay.

Virtual ScanDay

  • This is a spinoff program of ScanDay. It was started during the COVID-19 pandemic as a way for citizens and organizations to contribute copies of their items to the North Dakota Memories collection. It has since been made into an ongoing program/ service.
  • The only caveat (and this is the biggest difference from a traditional ScanDay) is that items must be digitized already. Digital Initiatives will not travel to a local library and scan the items for you. For example, items (like photographs) need to be in a digital format (like JPEG or TIFF) in order for them to be virtually submitted.

Training

Digital Initiatives provides many different training opportunities. Some of these come directly from the North Dakota State Library, and others come from a variety of reputable sources. These trainings also come in different formats (such as webinars, workshops, tutorials, guides, presentations, etc.).

Services for Government


Consultation

Digital Initiatives will offer consultation (in-person or remote) on such issues as:

Have additional questions that are not on this list? Uncertain about scanning or scanner settings? Feeling overwhelmed with your digital project? Digital Initiatives is here to help! Consulting can take place by email, over the phone, in-person (via a site visit), or virtual (via tools like Teams or Zoom). This service is available to all North Dakota state agencies. To get started, contact Digital Initiatives.


Digital Collections

The digital collections of the ND State Library are publicly accessible and searchable online in two locations: Digital Horizons and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). The collections contain thousands of items (photographs, documents, objects, etc.) relating to the history and culture of North Dakota and the Great Plains, as well as state government. The ND State Library supports open access to its digital collections and strives to allow users to access and search high-quality representations of the original items.

  • If any state agencies are interested in partnering with the ND State Library to have their historic documents (reports, publications, etc.) digitized and made available online, contact Digital Initiatives.
  • The ND State Library will be able to provide your agency with online hosting at no cost. Your digital content would become incorporated into the digital collections of the ND State Library. Contact Digital Initiatives for more information.

Digital Projects Toolkit

This toolkit covers the basics of cultural heritage digitization projects. Each of the sections includes practical tools, guidelines, examples, and resources for more in-depth learning. The toolkit includes sections on project planning, copyright, digitization, metadata, digital collection management, and storage and digital preservation.


Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a free, national digital library that provides a single point of access to cultural heritage materials (over 40 MILLION images, videos, texts, sounds, etc.) from more than 4,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.

The ND State Library joined DPLA in 2018 via a partnership with the Big Sky Country Digital Network (BSCDN) in Montana. Through the partnership with BSCDN, the ND State Library has paved the way for other North Dakota institutions to also join DPLA, and Digital Initiatives assists those who are interested in joining. In fact, the ND State Library is actively looking for new institutions to join. This is a wonderful opportunity to be a part of a national digital library. It is also an opportunity to bring together all of the separate digital collections in North Dakota into one location.

  • If you have any questions about DPLA and how to use it, or if your agency is interested in joining DPLA, contact Digital Initiatives for more information.

Digitization

The ND State Library offers digitization services to other state agencies. If your agency has something that needs to be digitized, the ND State Library has scanners and equipment that can be utilized. The ND State Library adheres to recommended standards and formats to ensure high-quality digital files. Alternatively, the ND State Library can provide guidance to state agencies that would like to start a digitization project on their own.

Also, if any state agencies are interested in partnering with the ND State Library to have their historic documents (reports, publications, etc.) digitized and made available online, contact Digital Initiatives.


Resources

Digital Initiatives provides resources on topics such as genealogy, hardware & software, oral histories, archiving & preservation, and much more!


ScanDay

ScanDay

ScanDay is an event hosted with or in libraries (public, academic, school, special, etc.) across the state, in which Digital Initiatives staff from the ND State Library bring scanning and photography equipment to a community and digitize photographs, documents, objects, etc. from the collections of local institutions and private citizens. After digitization, the items are returned and each participant is given a flash drive containing digital copies of their items.

  • State employees are welcome to attend any local ScanDay.
  • Alternatively, Digital Initiatives is willing to partner with state agencies to have a ScanDay at their location for their employees. If your agency is interested in hosting or participating in a ScanDay, contact Digital Initiatives.

Virtual ScanDay

  • This is a spinoff program of ScanDay. It was started during the COVID-19 pandemic as a way for citizens and organizations to contribute copies of their items to the North Dakota Memories collection. It has since been made into an ongoing program/ service.
  • The only caveat (and this is the biggest difference from a traditional ScanDay) is that items must be digitized already. Digital Initiatives will not travel to a local library and scan the items for you. For example, items (like photographs) need to be in a digital format (like JPEG or TIFF) in order for them to be virtually submitted.

ScanDay for State Employees

  • Digital Initiatives also offers a ScanDay specifically for state employees who want to contribute items from their personal collections to the digital collections of the ND State Library.
  • This is an ongoing service, instead of the typical one-and-done ScanDay event.
  • Items can be dropped off at the ND State Library, or items can be picked up.

Training

Digital Initiatives provides many different training opportunities. Some of these come directly from the North Dakota State Library, and others come from a variety of reputable sources. These trainings also come in different formats (such as webinars, workshops, tutorials, guides, presentations, etc.).

Services for the Public


Consultation

Digital Initiatives will offer guidance and resources on such issues as:

Have additional questions that are not on this list? Uncertain about scanning or scanner settings? Feeling overwhelmed with your digital project? Digital Initiatives is here to help! Consulting can take place by email, over the phone, or in-person (at the ND State Library via appointment). To get started, contact Digital Initiatives.


Digital Collections

The digital collections of the ND State Library are publicly accessible and searchable online in two locations: Digital Horizons and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). The collections contain thousands of items (photographs, documents, objects, etc.) relating to the history and culture of North Dakota and the Great Plains, as well as state government. The ND State Library supports open access to its digital collections and strives to allow users to access and search high-quality representations of the original items.


Resources

Digital Initiatives provides resources on topics such as genealogy, hardware & software, oral histories, archiving & preservation, copyright, digitization, and much more!


ScanDay

ScanDay

  • ScanDay is an event hosted with or in libraries (public, academic, school, special, etc.) across the state, in which Digital Initiatives staff from the ND State Library bring scanning and photography equipment to a community and digitize photographs, documents, objects, etc. from the collections of local institutions and private citizens. After digitization, the items are returned and each participant is given a flash drive containing digital copies of their items.
  • Members of the public are welcome to attend any local ScanDay.
  • If you would like to see a ScanDay event in your community, encourage your local library to contact Digital Initiatives to set one up.
  • If you are unable to attend a ScanDay but would still like to contribute materials to the ND State Library's online archive, contact Digital Initiatives to discuss options.

Virtual ScanDay

  • This is a spinoff program of ScanDay. It was started during the COVID-19 pandemic as a way for citizens and organizations to contribute copies of their items to the North Dakota Memories collection. It has since been made into an ongoing program/ service.
  • The only caveat (and this is the biggest difference from a traditional ScanDay) is that items must be digitized already. Digital Initiatives will not travel to a local library and scan the items for you. For example, items (like photographs) need to be in a digital format (like JPEG or TIFF) in order for them to be virtually submitted.

Training

Digital Initiatives provides many different training opportunities. Some of these come directly from the North Dakota State Library, and others come from a variety of reputable sources

Contact

If you have any questions or need assistance, feel free to contact Digital Initiatives.