Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Initiatives: Projects

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

Digital Initiatives Projects

Projects

Consult the list below for an overview of the various projects of the Digital Initiatives department at the ND State Library. Click on the heading of each project to be redirected and/or learn more.


Digital Collections Browsing Guides

Use the multiple guides to browse the digital collections of the ND State Library in various ways. Click on the links in the files below to be redirected to Digital Horizons.


Digital Horizons

Digital Horizons is an online resource consisting of thousands of images, documents, videos, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains. It is a consortium made up of many different organizations from across the region. The ND State Library is a partner in the Digital Horizons consortium.


Digital Projects Toolkit

This toolkit covers the basics of cultural heritage digitization projects. Each of the sections includes practical tools, guidelines, examples, and resources for more in-depth learning.


Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a free, national digital library that provides a single point of access to cultural heritage materials (over 40 MILLION images, videos, texts, sounds, etc.) from more than 4,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.

The ND State Library joined DPLA in 2018 via a partnership with the Big Sky Country Digital Network (BSCDN) in Montana. Now, the ND State Library is contributing over 2,500 items from its digital collections to DPLA. Through this partnership, the ND State Library has paved the way for other North Dakota institutions to also join DPLA. Digital Initiatives assists North Dakota institutions who are interested in joining.


North Dakota Photographers Index

The North Dakota Photographers Index draws on many sources to provide historical information about professional/ commercial photographers and studios in North Dakota. The index is on alphabetical order by the last name (or surname) of the photographer. In some cases, a studio name is listed. The index also provides the location and dates of operation of the photographer or studio (if this information is known). For the dates of operation, many are estimations. The most complete data in the index includes photographers and studios from the 1880s to the 1920s.

The index is likely missing many photographers, and not every photographer or studio has complete information. As a result, this index will be an ongoing project. If you have any additional information that can help update this index, please contact the Digital Initiatives.


ScanDay

ScanDay

  • Digital Initiatives works with libraries to organize and implement ScanDay events across the state. ScanDay is an event hosted with or in libraries (public, academic, school, special, etc.), in which Digital Initiatives staff bring scanning and photography equipment to a community and digitize photographs, documents, objects, etc. from the collections of local institutions and private citizens. After digitization, the items are returned and each participant is given a flash drive containing digital copies of their items. The donated digital items are then uploaded to the ND State Library's digital collections for research and educational purposes.
  • Digital Initiatives also offers resources and guidance to libraries, institutions, state agencies, etc. that want to plan and host a ScanDay on their own.

ScanDay for State Employees

  • Digital Initiatives offers a ScanDay specifically for state employees who want to contribute items from their personal collections to the digital collections of the ND State Library.
  • This is an ongoing service, instead of the typical one-and-done ScanDay event.

Virtual ScanDay

  • The Virtual ScanDay program was started during the COVID-19 pandemic as a way for citizens and organizations to contribute digital copies of their items to the North Dakota Memories collection. It was later made into an ongoing program/ service. Through Virtual ScanDay, digital items can be submitted to the ND State Library for inclusion in its digital collections from anywhere by anyone (even if you do not live in the state anymore).

Volunteering

The ND State Library needs you! Digital Initiatives has several projects that require the assistance of virtual volunteers. Help us improve our digital collections by making them more accessible and searchable.


Wikipedia/ Wikimedia Commons

Digital Initiatives will occasionally contribute content in the public domain or without copyright restrictions to Wikimedia Commons from its digital collections. The uploaded items will then be inserted into applicable Wikipedia articles. The goal of this project is to boost access and discoverability of the ND State Library's digital collections.