Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Initiatives: Digital Collections

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

Overview

Digital Collections

The Digital Initiatives department at the ND State Library manages the agency's digital collections and focuses on digital projects that relate to:

  • the cultural history of North Dakota and the region
  • state agencies and government
  • publications on the history of North Dakota communities, businesses, and organizations, as well as histories of the state itself

The digital collections of the ND State Library are primarily accessible online in two locations: Digital Horizons and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). Secondary locations online include Find A Grave, Historypin, and Wikipedia.

Digital Horizons logo      DPLA logo             Find A Grave logo                Wikipedia logo

List of Digital Collections

Gordon and Emma Anderson Collection

Items relating to the Anderson and Landers families, and the Kenmare and Crosby areas of North Dakota.


North Dakota Atlases and Plat Books

Historical atlases and plat books from North Dakota counties.


North Dakota Histories

North Dakota history books relating to counties, towns, churches, schools, townships, families, organizations, etc.


North Dakota Memories

Images, documents, and objects that have been digitized from the collections of North Dakota residents, organizations (such as businesses, churches, etc.), and cultural heritage institutions (such as libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, etc.).


North Dakota School for the Deaf

Newsletters, reports, photographs, videos, objects, and documents relating to the North Dakota School for the Deaf in Devils Lake, since its inception in the 1890s to the present.


North Dakota State Documents

Publications, reports, videos, newsletters, etc. generated by North Dakota state government agencies since before statehood in 1889 to today.


Prairie Recipes

Cookbooks, recipes, and cooking guides from across the Northern Plains and the state of North Dakota.


T. E. McMillan Diaries

Diaries from 1888 to 1947 about the life of a North Dakota homesteader and farmer.

Featured Content

Atlas of Cass County, ND, 1906, pg. 5

North Dakota Atlases and Plat Books

Atlas of Cass County, ND, 1906, pg. 5

Home of Dakota Maid Flour and Feed

North Dakota State Documents

Home of Dakota Maid Flour and Feed

Dakota Delectables

Prairie Recipes

Dakota Delectables

Standard Atlas of Burleigh County, ND, 1912, pg. 7

North Dakota Atlases and Plat Books

Standard Atlas of Burleigh County, ND, 1912, pg. 7

Flickertale Newsletter 1971

North Dakota State Documents

Flickertale Newsletter 1971

Standard Atlas of Ward County, ND, 1915, pg. 73

North Dakota Atlases and Plat Books

Standard Atlas of Ward County, ND, 1915, pg. 73

Irwin Landers with puppies, Ward County, N.D., 1932

Gordon and Emma Anderson Collection

Irwin Landers with puppies, Ward County, N.D., 1932

Carefree Cookery

Prairie Recipes

Carefree Cookery

Social Media

Copies of items from the ND State Library's digital collections sometimes appear in its blog, newsletters, social media (Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.). Items may also be added to other interactive places such as Jigsaw Planet, Find A Grave, Google Maps, and Wikipedia.

Visit the Follow & Subscribe page to learn more or to follow the ND State Library and/or Digital Initiatives on social media.

Accessing the Digital Collections

Primarily, the digital collections of the ND State Library are publicly accessible and searchable online in two locations:

  1. Digital Horizons
  2. Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Digital Horizons logo

Digital Horizons is an online resource consisting of thousands of images, documents, videos, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains. Digital Horizons provides a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies. Digital Horizons is a consortium and includes collections from Concordia College, North Dakota State University, Prairie Public Broadcasting, ND State Library, State Historical Society of North Dakota, Bismarck Veterans Memorial Public Library, and more!

Digital Horizons is consistently named the best genealogy website for North Dakota by Family Tree Magazine.


                DPLA Primary Horizontal Logo

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a free, national digital library that provides a single point of access to cultural heritage materials from more than 4,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Go to the DPLA website to search more than 45 million images, videos, texts, and sounds.

Visit our DPLA page to learn more about:

  • DPLA's resources and how to access them
  • North Dakota's content and contributing institutions
  • ND State Library's partnership with the Big Sky Country Digital Network (BSCDN) consortium
  • How North Dakota institutions can join DPLA and contribute content from their digital collections

Collection Guides

 

Visit the Policies & Procedures page for more information.

 

New Items Added

A monthly report highlighting the new items uploaded to the various digital collections of the ND State Library. Visit the Reports page to access these documents.

A list of the top 10 items in each of the ND State Library's digital collections that received the most views in a given year. Visit the Reports page to access these documents.

Donations

If you are interested in contributing items to the ND State Library's digital collections, please visit our Donations page for more information.