About the Collection
The collection is a partnership between the North Dakota State Library and the North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind (NDVS/SB).
The NDVS/SB was established in 1905 by the North Dakota Legislative Assembly. In 1908, the School for the Blind opened in Bathgate, North Dakota. In 1961, the school relocated to Grand Forks. In 1991, the school became a division of the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction. To learn more about the history of NDVS/SB, visit https://www.ndvisionservices.com/history
Sub-collections
Collection Guides
Content Warning
Due to the nature and age of certain historical materials, some items within the "North Dakota School for the Blind" collection may include language and/or imagery that depict prejudices, or content that is considered offensive and harmful.
The North Dakota State Library (NDSL) and its partner, the North Dakota School for the Blind (NDSB), do not condone any prejudices or harmful content found within this digital collection. They do not reflect the view, mission, values, and policies of NDSL or its partners.
In the interest of historical integrity, understanding, study, and to inspire discussion, NDSL does not intend to permanently block or exclude any text or images in this digital collection. NDSL supports the open access and use of its digital collections and strives to allow users to access and search high-quality representations of the original items. It is NDSL’s responsibility to make its digital collections user-friendly while serving as conscientious stewards of an ever-complicated history.
This content statement is provided to warn users of potentially harmful or offensive material, and to give users the opportunity to decide for themselves if they wish to view the material or not. The intent of a content statement or warning is not to deter users from collections.
For further information, consult the document below.
Donations
If you are interested in contributing items to the ND State Library's digital collections, please visit our Donations page for more information.
Many of these resources and programs are funded under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.