Skip to Main Content

Digital Initiatives: Social Media

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

Social Media

Facebook icon  Facebook

Digital Initiatives does not have its own Facebook page or group, but posts relating to Digital Initiatives or posts using content from its collections are often made on the North Dakota State Library's Facebook page, as well as the Digital Horizons Facebook page.

Instagram icon  Instagram

The Digital Initiatives department does not have its own Instagram account, but posts relating to Digital Initiatives or posts using content from its collections are often made on the North Dakota State Library's Instragram.

Pinterest icon  Pinterest

The North Dakota State Library has a board on Pinterest called "Digital Initiatives." This board includes dozens of pins that are a sampling of the ND State Library's digital collections. Themes include military, politics, transportation, religion, weather, sports and recreation, education, weddings, and agriculture.

YouTube icon  YouTube

Digital Initiatives utilizes YouTube to upload and/or share videos, tutorials, webinars, etc. that relate to the many different aspects of digitization, digital preservation, and digital collections. Some of these videos were created by the North Dakota State Library, and other videos are from other cultural heritage institutions across the country. Regardless of where the videos originated, their intent is all the same: they are there to provide information and offer guidance.


Additionally, Digital Initiatives uses YouTube to upload digitized videos. These videos are embedded and accessible within the ND State Library's collections on Digital Horizons, but they can also be watched directly on YouTube.

Find A Grave logo  Find A Grave

Find A Grave is a free online database of cemeteries and graves. It boasts the world's largest gravesite collection. Digital Initiatives will occasionally contribute items to grave records, such as public domain or no copyright images of the individual and biographical information. Consult the Digital Initiatives profile on the Find A Grave website to explore what has been contributed.


Jigsaw planet logo  Jigsaw Planet

Jigsaw Planet is a website that allows contributors to upload and create jigsaw puzzles from their images. Digital Initiatives has added a number of images from the digital collections of the ND State Library to its Jigsaw Planet account.

These virtual puzzles can be played by anyone from anywhere. It is completely free and no account is needed. By using the website's "Play As" feature, users can select their own desired number of pieces for each puzzle.

Take a brain break and give one of the puzzles a try!

IMLS logo

Many of these resources and programs are funded under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.