Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Initiatives: Digital Horizons

Digital Initiatives department at the North Dakota State Library

 

                Digital Horizons logo

NDSL & Digital Horizons

The ND State Library (NDSL) is an active partner in the Digital Horizons consortium. Digital Horizons is the primary home for the digital collections of NDSL.

About Digital Horizons

About Digital Horizons

Digital Horizons is an online resource for thousands of images, documents, videos, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains. Digital Horizons provides a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies.

  • Digital Horizons provides, maintains, and preserves a wide range of historical and significant content.
  • Digital Horizons is consistently named the best genealogy website for North Dakota by Family Tree Magazine.

Purpose

Digital Horizons provides, maintains, and preserves a wide range of historical and significant content related to North Dakota and Minnesota. This project creates teaching, learning, and researching opportunities for life-long learning.


Vision

Digital Horizons is dedicated to creating a digital collection of the region's unique and historical resources. It supports education, scholarship, and enrichment through Internet access to these collections.


Harnessing technology and innovation, Digital Horizons is committed to:

  • Creating open-access digital resources for research, instruction, and personal enrichment
  • Developing and maintaining a digital library infrastructure
  • Partnering on projects with other institutions that will benefit all parties

Goals

  • Increase the number and range of regional digital resources available for public use
  • Digitize, promote, and support the access to and use of unique materials contributed by participating members
  • Develop the digital asset management capabilities of individual partners with the goal of making the delivery of digital content efficient and effective
  • Encourage the public to share historical resources from their personal collections
  • Collaborate with colleagues at other regional institutions to develop digital resources that will benefit a broad spectrum of users
  • Provide user-friendly access to digital collections
  • Identify external funding sources to advance digital projects
  • Offer digital library services that are sustainable, scaleable, and consistent with national digital library standards

More information about the consortium's contributors is available on the Digital Horizons website.


Partner Members

  • Concordia College (Archives)
  • NDSU Libraries
    • Germans from Russia Heritage Collection
    • NDSU Archives
  • North Dakota State Library
  • Prairie Public
  • State Historical Society of North Dakota (State Archives)

Associate Members

  • Bismarck Veterans Memorial Public Library
  • Bowman Regional Public Library
  • Grand Forks Public Library
  • NDSU Memorial Union
  • University of Mary

Contact

Any questions about Digital Horizons can be directed to: digitalhorizonslibrary@gmail.com, or you can use the contact form available on the Digital Horizons website.

Joining Digital Horizons

Joining Digital Horizons

Digital Horizons is a consortium of various institutions and is always interested in adding new members. Consult the tabs in this section to learn more about membership (and especially review the Partnership Agreement/ bylaws), or if your institution is ready to apply, fill out the membership application.

Membership Information

Contributions come from a variety of institutions dedicated to preserving and promoting the history and culture of the Northern Plains. Digital Horizons consists of a two-tiered membership scale:

  • Partners
  • Associates

Partners

Digital Horizons welcomes new partner institutions that can contribute to the goals and purpose of the organization.

New partners will be accepted, provided they uphold the following responsibilities:

  • Supply content that is relevant to the goals of this organization
  • Have the financial resources to assist with the annual maintenance fee, equipment purchases, and other operating costs
  • Participate in the governance of the Digital Horizons consortium
  • Consent to the responsibilities and clauses of the Partnership Agreement
  • Agree to participate for a minimum of one fiscal year

Benefits extended to partners of this organization include:

  • Increasing access to content housed in participating organizations
  • Enhancing opportunities for learning and research
  • Providing educational opportunities via outreach programming
  • Generating awareness of local historical resources and their use
  • Implementing and contributing to best practices for collaborative digital organizations
  • Sharing of digital content among member organizations without charge

Associates

Associates are those organizations who wish to share their digital resources with the public but do not wish to participate in the governance of Digital Horizons.

Associate members are expected to uphold the following:

  • Submit an application detailing the digital resources they wish to contribute to the governing board
  • Supply digitized content and metadata that is relevant to the goals of this organization
  • Have the financial resources to assist with the annual maintenance fee
  • Agree to participate for a minimum of one fiscal year

Benefits extended to associates include:

  • Increasing access to content housed in participating organizations
  • Enhancing opportunities for learning and research
  • Providing educational opportunities via outreach programming
  • Generating awareness of local historical resources and their use
  • Implementing and contributing to best practices for collaborative digital organizations

Membership Fees

  Entrance Fee (one time) Maintenance Fee (annual) Collections Allotted Collection Size
Partners $3,000 $3,000 25 Unlimited
Associates $1,000 $300 1 10,000 items or 1 GB

Membership Application Procedures

Digital Horizons welcomes organizations to apply for membership. The following procedures delineate the application process:

  • Interested parties (regardless of membership level) should complete the online membership application. This application primarily functions as a method of discovery to learn what the interested party is planning to do with its participation in Digital Horizons.
  • Completed applications will be automatically sent to Digital Horizons. Any questions can be directed to: digitalhorizonslibrary@gmail.com
  • Applications will be reviewed by the organization’s governing board.
  • When the governing board approves or denies the application, the pending member will receive notice documenting this decision.
  • If a new member wishes to add any additional collections, the process delineated in the collection guidelines and collection application should be followed.

Individuals/ Private Citizens

Only institutions (libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, schools, etc.) may join Digital Horizons. Individuals who wish to contribute historical material from their private collections can do so by arrangement with a Digital Horizons member.

Benefits of Joining Digital Horizons


Benefits of joining Digital Horizons

Documentation of Digital Horizons

Contact

Any questions about Digital Horizons can be directed to: digitalhorizonslibrary@gmail.com, or you can use the contact form available on the Digital Horizons website.